Tina M. Shultz Memorial Award

Tina Marie Shultz


Tina Marie Shultz was a member of the 1985-86 class of county dairy princesses. Selected to serve as Huntingdon County’s Dairy Princess in June of 1985, she did an outstanding job of promoting the dairy industry and its products under extremely difficult personal complications.

Just three months before her county pageant she lost her left leg to cancer and throughout her reign she battled the insidious disease. Except when she was hospitalized, Tina seldom missed an engagement or opportunity to promote. As Beth Heald, 1985-86 Pennsylvania Dairy Princess, wrote “Tina represented the dairy industry with a sense of pride and devotion that was admired by everyone who knew her. . . (she) fulfilled her role as Dairy Princess with as much enthusiasm and hard work as those of us who are healthy.”

Following Tina’s death in May of 1986, her sister princesses established a fund for an award to be given in her honor. It seemed fitting that the “Outstanding County Promoter Award” initiated in 1985 be designated the “Tina Shultz Memorial Award”. In 1993, a second memorial was attached to the “Tina M. Shultz Memorial Award” in memory of Margaret Shultz of Montgomery County, also a member of the Princess Class of 1985-86 who succumbed to cancer in 1993.

This award is given annually to the Princess who has done the most effective job of serving her area as Dairy Princess. It is based on the number and types of appearances she has made as an individual and the local circumstances under which she has served.

The winner of the Tina M. Shultz Memorial Award must be a dedicated, enthusiastic promoter of the dairy industry who is willing to go “beyond the call of duty” to carry out her assignment.

Former Tina M. Shultz Award Recipients
1984-85 Judy Miller Lancaster County
1985-86 Jill Kutz Wyoming/Lackawanna
1986-87 Laurie Suzanne Smith Blair County
1987-88 Jenny Sue Bigelow Plummer Blair County
1988-89 Angelique McDonald Walason Bedford County
1989-90 Anne Marie Mitchell Rohrbach Berks County
1990-91 Teresa J. Hill Shuey Lebanon County
1991-92 Jessica Gourley Ricquer Warren County
  Carrie Bryant Bomgardner Wayne County
1992-93 Angela Baker Lebanon County
1993-94 Anna J. Calhoun Meyer Indiana/Armstrong
1994-95 Rachel Tanis Mead Centre County
1995-96 Yvonne Peterman Fogal Lycoming County
1996-97 Emily Metz Keegan Huntingdon County
1997-98 Julie McConnell Salmon Beaver-Lawrence
1998-99 Jessica Bailor Juniata County
1999-00 Lauren D. Daubert Zuber Clinton County
2000-01 Melinda Sue Wolfe Criswell SUN Area
2001–02 Rebecca A. Mowrer Couch Huntingdon County
2002-03 Jessica Marie Landis Somerset County
2003-04 Megan E. DeHart Greathouse Butler County
2004-05 Amy Elizabeth Hartle Centre County
2005-06 Genna Chilson Bradford County
2006-07 Katie Johanne Waddell Crawford County
2007-09 Abby Elizabeth Flick Butler County
2008-09 Anna Mae Flick Butler County
2009-10 Krystal S. Wasson Centre County
2010-11 Melissa DeHart Butler County
2011-12 Gabrielle Murphy York County
2012-13 Maria Jo Noble Bradford County
2013-14 Madeline Daubert
Halee Wasson
Schuylkill County
Centre County